Uncategorized

The Yellow Folder of Destiny

Here it is folks, the bright yellow folder of life changing destiny!  A bunch of you have been asking about this folder since my first post.  Remember, this folder may look ordinary but it has captured my interest and imagination since 2010.  

The contents of this folder has changed my life in so many ways.  It has fed my eternal flame of curiosity and to be honest I am grateful.  Inside there are a few different aspects of genealogy research, represented here, that has kept me busy ever since.  

From the first page, I had questions.  The contents of which seem pretty basic.  It states, my Great Aunt Karen and her Husband put this together in 1981.  This page goes on to list all the records they obtained to verify their information.

The next few pages lists our Brasington / Miller line for a few generations back to around the 1830’s.    This is where things got real.  I vaguely knew the Miller name but I never had heard of Brasington before.  (This family line to this day affects me on a routine basis.)  At this point, I started asking; Who are these people?  Have I met any of them?  

The pages that followed frankly sealed the deal on my budding curiosity.  (Pictures are listed below.)  There is a plat map from 1872, a copy of a land deed signed by Martin Van Buren, a collection of family stories that had been passed down (at the time of my discovery, I had never heard them before), a copied newspaper clipping, highlighting the 50th Wedding Anniversary of my 4x Great Grandparents and the most exciting of all was the pictures.  (Granted they are just photo copies of the originals but I love them anyway. )

The plat map of our family homestead from 1872 in Waterford, Michigan.

A Land deed issued in 1837.

One of the family list pages.

50th Wedding Anniversary, so cool!

My 2x Great Grandparents.

Family photo!  ( Taken in about 1886 or so.)

Another relatives family photo.

All together this folder still keeps me motivated and I am eternally grateful to My Great Aunt Karen! 

So tell me, what has been the most exciting discovery for you?  What got you motivated to research your family? Feel free to comment.

© Melissa Woodard, 2017

3 thoughts on “The Yellow Folder of Destiny”

  1. I really enjoyed your post! I would love to find such a folder regarding my family history! I have only one suggestion. . .it might be worth clarifying at the beginning that you are referring to a folder that relates to genealogy. After looking at your blog that was apparent, but it was a bit confusing to me at first (but that just might be me!). I love the pictures, so cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

